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1) total of purchases
Subject to New
Jersey use tax

2) use tax Due

3) penalty & interest

4) total amount Due

State of New Jersey
Annual Business Use Tax Return

this return is due May 3, 2021 for the tax year ending December 31, 2020

ST-18B
12-20

2020

Make Check or Money Order Payable to: New Jersey Use Tax
Mail to: Division of Taxation

Revenue Processing Center
PO Box 999
Trenton, NJ 08646-0999

our records show your business may need 2020 form St-18B below to report and remit use tax. This form is due on or before May 3, 
2021.

a business must pay use tax for 2020 if it purchased taxable property or services in 2020 without paying New Jersey Sales tax, or if it 
paid sales taxes to other jurisdictions at rates lower than New Jersey’s. (except in certain designated areas, New Jersey’s Sales tax rate in 
2020 was 6.625%.)

this form is for businesses that weren’t required to collect New Jersey Sales Tax from customers, but that may have Use Tax obligations 
that must be reported for the 2020 tax year. Such businesses are not required to file returns (forms St-50/51) each month or quarter.

your business should file this form if it:
1. Didn’t sell taxable goods or services or lease taxable property to others in 2020;
2. averaged less than $2,000 in annual use tax liability in 2017, 2018, and 2019, and;
3. owes use tax for 2020.

Do Not File This Form if You Do Not Owe Use Tax.
Note: If your business sold taxable goods or services or leased taxable property to others, or if your average annual Use Tax 
liability for the three previous calendar years was more than $2,000, you cannot file Form ST-18B for 2020. You must change your 
business registration to include quarterly/monthly Sales Tax filings. You can add Sales Tax eligibility through the Online 
Registration Change Service at: www.state.nj.us/treasury/revenue/.

more information is available in publication aNJ-7, Use Tax in New Jersey,  S&u-7, Filing Sales and Use Tax Returns, and on the Division 
of taxation’s website at: njtaxation.org.

DETACH HERE

Please respond to:
Customer Service Center

(609) 292-6400

State of New Jersey
DepartmeNt of the treaSury

DiviSioN of taxatioN
po Box 269

treNtoN NJ  08695-0269

NJ Taxpayer I.D. Number

Name

Mailing Address

City State ZIP Code



under penalty of law, i certify that all the information is correct:

________________________________________________________________________ _______________________________________
(Signature of taxpayer or Corporate officer) (Date)

if this return is prepared by someone other than the taxpayer complete the following information:

fiD# or SS# _______________ / ____________ / _______________

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
(Signature of individual of firm preparing the return) (title)

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
(print Name of firm and individual preparing the return) (title)

Instructions for Completing the Use Tax Return ST-18B

1) Total of Purchases enter the amount of all taxable purchases that were either delivered to a New
Subject to New Jersey Jersey location or used by you within New Jersey during the calendar year that you
Use Tax have not paid:

• New Jersey Sales or use tax or;
• Sales tax to any other jurisdiction within the united States.

you do not owe New Jersey use tax if the sales tax paid in another jurisdiction is
higher than 6.625%. however, New Jersey will not give you credit for any sales
tax you pay that is above 6.625%.

2) Use Tax Due Complete the following worksheet to calculate the use tax due.
(a) multiply the amount on line 1 of the return by 6.625%._________________
(b) enter the amount of sales tax you already paid to another jurisdiction on a
purchase included on line 1 of the return. ______________________

3) Penalty and Interest

4) Total Amount Due

Note: You can claim this credit only if the tax was legally due and paid to the 
other jurisdiction and if you have no right to a refund. If the tax paid in another 
state was less than 6.625%, the difference is due to New Jersey

(c) Subtract (b) from (a) and enter result here and on line 2, use tax Due, on 
form St-18B. ______________________

We will charge a penalty of 5% per month or part of a month (up to a maximum of 
25%) on the use tax due (line 2) if you do not file a required St-18B by may 3, 
2021.

We will charge interest at a rate of prime rate plus 3%, calculated up to the date of 
payment, if you do not pay use tax by may 3, 2021.

enter total use tax amount due line 2 plus any penalty and interest from line 3. 
this is the amount you must remit with your return.

For more information and assistance in completing this return, 
contact the New Jersey Division of Taxation Customer Service Center at (609) 292-6400.  

For information concerning the taxability of goods and services, see S&U-4, New Jersey Sales Tax Guide at 
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/sales/su4.pdf

DETACH HERE
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