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1) Total of Purchases
Subject to New
Jersey Use Tax

2) Use Tax Due 

3) Penalty & Interest

4) Total Amount Due

State of New Jersey

Annual Business Use Tax Return
This return is due May 1, 2010 for the tax year ending December 31, 2009

ST-18B
1-10

2009

DETACH HERE

Make Check or Money Order Payable to: New Jersey Use Tax

Mail to: Division of Taxation
Revenue Processing Center
PO Box 999
Trenton, NJ 08646-0999

Many businesses that do not sell taxable goods or services and are not lessors of taxable property (referred to below

as non-vendors) are now relieved of the burden of having to file periodic sales and use tax returns.

Note: To be eligible to use Form ST-18B, you must be a non-vendor whose annual use tax liability averaged

$2,000 or less for the last three calendar years.  Non-vendor businesses whose average annual use tax

liability was more than $2,000 for the last three calendar years must continue to file the regular Sales

and Use Tax Returns (ST-50/51 must be filed electronically either online:

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation or by phone: 1-877-829-2866).

All qualified non-vendors may now file an Annual Business Use Tax Return (Form ST-18B).  As a non-vendor

business, you would be required to file the ST-18B only if you bought taxable property without the payment of sales

tax, or if you paid tax at a rate less than New Jersey’s rate of 7%.  If you need to pay use tax on business purchases,

the ST-18B covers purchases made during one calendar year and must be filed on or before May 1 of the next year.

Qualified non-vendor businesses are not required to file the ST-18B for any calendar year in which they do not owe

any use tax.  The Form ST-18B covers purchases made on or after January 1, 2009 to December 31, 2009.

Read Instructions on Reverse Side before Completing this Return !

Please respond to:
Customer Service Center

(609) 292-6400

State of New Jersey
DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY

DIVISION OF TAXATION

PO BOX 269

TRENTON NJ  08695-0269

NJ Taxpayer I.D. Number

Name

Mailing Address

City State Zip Code



DETACH HERE

I certify that all the information given is correct:

________________________________________________________________________ _______________________________________
(Signature of Taxpayer or Corporate Officer) (Date)

If this return is prepared by someone other than the taxpayer complete the following information:

FID# or SS# _______________ / ____________ / _______________

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
(Signature of Individual of Firm preparing the return) (Title)

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
(Print Name of Firm and Individual preparing the return) (Title)

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE USE TAX RETURN ST-18B

1) Total of Purchases Enter the amount of all purchases of any taxable tangible personal property, 

Subject to New Jersey or taxable services to tangible personal property or digital property which 

Use Tax was either delivered to a New Jersey location or used by you within New Jersey 

during the calendar year, for which you have not paid either New Jersey sales or

use tax or sales tax of 7% or more to any other jurisdiction within the United

States.  If the tax paid in another jurisdiction was 7% or higher, you will not owe

use tax to New Jersey.  However, no further credit is allowed for tax paid in

another state at a rate higher than New Jersey’s 7%.

2) Use Tax Due Complete the following worksheet to calculate the use tax due.

(a) Multiply the amount on Line (1) of the return by the tax rate of 7% (.07).

_____________________.

(b) If applicable, enter the amount of sales tax previously paid in another

jurisdiction on a purchase included in the Total of Purchases on Line 1 of the

return ______________________.

Note:  You may claim this credit only if the tax was legally due and paid to
the other jurisdiction and if you have no right to a refund.  If the tax paid
in another state was less than 7%, the difference is due to New Jersey.  

(c) Subtract (b) from (a) and enter result here and on Line 2, Use Tax Due, on form

ST-18B. ______________________.

3) Penalty and Interest Penalty of 5% per month or fraction thereof (up to a maximum of 25%) on the Use

Tax due (Line 2) is imposed for failure to file a required ST-18B by the due date.

Interest at a rate of prime rate plus 3%, calculated up to the date of payment, is

imposed for failure to pay Use Tax by the due date.

4) Total Amount Due Enter total Use Tax amount due Line 2 plus any Penalty and Interest from Line 3.

This is the amount which you must remit with your return.

For further information and assistance in completing this return, 

please contact the New Jersey Division of Taxation Customer Service Center at (609) 292-6400.  

For information concerning the taxability of goods and services, see Sales and Use Tax Guide (S & U 4) at

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/sales/su4.pdf
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