Business Paperless Telefiling System

Instructions

New Jersey Domestic Security Fee
(Form DSF-100 Quarterly Return)

Filing by Phone

Complete the DSF-100 Worksheet, call the Business Paper-
less Telefiling System at 609-341-4800, and select “3” from the
menu for the Domestic Security Fee Filing System. You will be
prompted to enter the information from your worksheet on your
Touch-tone telephone keypad. (NoTe: For best results, do not
use a cordless or cellular phone or one with a keypad in the
handset.) The system provides step-by-step instructions and
repeats your entries to ensure accuracy. When your return is
accepted, you will be given a 7-digit Confirmation Number as
proof that your return was successfully filed. The telefiling sys-
tem is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Payments. The system automatically calculates the total
amount that you owe based on the information that you provide.
Payments must be made electronically using either electronic
check (e-check), electronic funds transfer (EFT), or credit card.
See “How to Pay” below. During your phone call you will have
an opportunity to pay the amount due by e-check. You can also
pay the amount due outside the telefiling system using a credit
card or EFT (debit or credit).

Identification. You will be asked to enter your New Jersey Tax-
payer Identification Number and your 4-digit Personal Identifica-
tion Number (PIN) to access the system.

Filing Online

You can also file Form DSF-100 online at the Division of Taxa-
tion’s website (www.njtaxation.org). Choose the “Businesses”
tab in the center column, select “File Business Taxes/Fees,” and
then choose “Domestic Security Fee” to access the link to the
online filing application.

Who Must File

Motor vehicle rental companies doing business in this State
are required to pay a domestic security fee for each rental day
a motor vehicle is rented under agreements of 28 days or less.
The fee is assessed at the rate of $5.00 per day on or after
July 8, 2006, and was assessed at the rate of $2.00 per day on
or before July 7, 2006. The fee is due for the quarter in which
the rental agreement ends. It is separate from and in addition
to any sales tax due on the rental transaction. A quarterly return
must be filed even if no fees are due for that particular quarter.

Definitions

Rental Company means any individual, business, or other en-
tity or person engaged in the business of renting motor vehicles.

Rental Day means midnight to midnight or a 24-hour period
commencing at the time of day fixed by the parties for the start
of the rental period, should the rental agreement provide for
same.
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Rental Motor Vehicle means a passenger automobile, truck,
van, trailer, or semitrailer that is rented without a driver and
designed for use in the transportation of persons or property on
the public roadways, other than for transportation of commercial
freight.

Rental Agreement means any agreement or invoice for the
rental of a motor vehicle. The term includes motor vehicle
rentals/loaner transactions that are entered into between rental
companies. The domestic security fee applies to all transac-
tions, including those involving governmental or nongovernmen-
tal entities that are tax-exempt under any Federal or State laws.

Complimentary Rental means a rental for which the renter or
any person on his or her behalf pays no consideration or any
charge or does not reimburse any expenses of the rental com-
pany, such as, but not limited to, insurance coverage, associ-
ated with the rental. A discounted rental is not complimentary.
(For example, if a rental agreement provides for several “free”
days of rental, the domestic security fee is due for both the free
days and the days for which the renter is charged.)

For more information, see Technical Bulletins TB-47,
TB-47(R1), and TB-47(R2). See “Where to Get Information” on
page 4.

When to File

Businesses that are subject to the fee must file a quarterly
Domestic Security Fee Return, Form DSF-100, and remit any
fees due, on or before the last day of month following the end of
the calendar quarter.

Quarter Ending Due Date
Jan.-Feb.-Mar. March 31 April 30
Apr.-May-June June 30 July 31
July-Aug.-Sept. September 30 October 31
Oct.-Nov.-Dec. December 31 January 31

If a due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the
return is due the next business day. Returns transmitted by
11:59 p.m. on the due date will be deemed timely.

How to Pay

Payments made by 11:59 p.m. on the due date will be deemed
timely even if the settlement date (date payment is debited from
the account) is after the filing deadline provided the payment

is made by e-check through the Business Paperless Telefiling
System, or by credit card.

Note: E-check or EFT (debit or credit) payments made using
an account that is funded from a financial institution outside the
United States will not be accepted.



Electronic Check (e-check)
You will be given an oppor-
tunity during your telephone
call to pay your fee liability by
e-check. If you choose to pay
by e-check, be sure to enter
the 9-digit routing number and the account number (up to 17
characters — numbers only) in the Payment Information section
of the worksheet before you make your call.

"
)

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)

Taxpayers with a prior year liability of $10,000 or more in any
tax are required to make their payments for all taxes by EFT.
Other taxpayers may voluntarily submit payments by EFT

with the approval of the Division of Revenue and Enterprise
Services. You must enroll with the Division of Revenue and
Enterprise Services to pay by either EFT debit or credit. The en-
rollment process may take several weeks. For more information
on making payments by EFT debit or credit, call 609-292-9292,
write to New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise
Services, EFT Unit, PO Box 191, Trenton, NJ 08646-0191, or
visit the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services’ website

at www.state.nj.us/treasury/revenue/eft1.shtml. Taxpayers who
are required to remit payments by EFT can satisfy the EFT
requirement by making e-check or credit card payments.

Credit Card

To pay your fee liability by credit card, call 1-888-673-7694 or
go to the Division of Taxation’s website at www.njtaxation.org
after you have completed your telephone filing and received a
Confirmation Number. When paying online, choose the “Busi-
nesses” tab in the center column and then choose “File Busi-
ness Taxes/Fees.” Select “Domestic Security Fee” and click on
the link “File Online.” Once you have entered your New Jersey
Taxpayer Identification Number and PIN (or business name),
choose “All Other Payments — Deficiencies” from the list, enter
the month and year for which you are making a payment, and
continue. Fees apply when you pay by credit card. The fee is
added to your actual payment.

Penalties, Interest, and Fees

Failure to file a return by the due date and/or failure to remit
any fees due by the due date will result in penalty and interest
charges.

Late Filing Penalties

The late filing penalty is 5% per month (or fraction thereof) of
the balance of fee liability due at original return due date not to
exceed 25% of such fee liability. A penalty of $100 per month
(or fraction thereof) for each month the return is late will also be
imposed.

Late Payment Penalty
The late payment penalty is 5% of the balance of the fees due
and paid late.

Interest

The annual interest rate is 3% above the average predominant
prime rate. Interest is imposed each month (or fraction thereof)
on the unpaid balance of the fee from the original due date to
the date of payment. At the end of each calendar year any fees,
penalties, and interest remaining due will become part of the
balance on which interest is charged.
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Note: The average predominant prime rate is the rate as
determined by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve
System, quoted by commercial banks to large businesses on
December 1stof the calendar year immediately preceding the
calendar year in which the payment was due or as determined
by the Director in accordance with N.J.S.A. 54:48-2.

Collection Fees

In addition to the above penalties and interest, if your fee bill
is sent to a collection agency, a referral cost recovery fee of
10.7% of the fee due will be added to your liability. If a certifi-
cate of debt is issued for your outstanding liability, a fee for the
cost of collection may also be imposed.

Instructions for Telefile Worksheet

Identification

New Jersey Taxpayer Identification Number. Enter your
12-digit New Jersey Taxpayer ldentification Number. If your
ID number begins with the letters “NJ,” enter “6,” “5,” and the
remaining 10 digits. (NoTe: If you do not enter your ID number

correctly, you will not be able to file.)

PIN. Enter your 4-digit PIN (Personal Identification Number).
(Norte: If you do not enter your PIN correctly, you will not be able
to file.)

If you are registered to withhold New Jersey gross income tax
from wages or other payments, your domestic security fee PIN
is the same PIN that you use to file employer withholding tax
returns (Forms NJ-927/500 or Form NJ-927-W) online. If your
business does not file employer withholding tax returns, your
domestic security fee PIN is the same PIN you use to file sales
and use tax returns (Forms ST-50/51) online or by phone.

You must update your registration information to report that you
are required to collect the fee before you can use your assigned
employer or sales tax PIN to file your domestic security fee
return. To update your registration information online go to
www.state.nj.us/treasury/revenue/.

If you have registered to collect the domestic security fee and
you cannot access the Business Paperless Telefiling System
using your assigned PIN, call the Division of Taxation’s Custom-
er Service Center or visit a regional office for assistance. See
“Where to Get Information” on page 4.

Return Period
Quarter: Enter the number that reflects the calendar quarter
covered by the return:

1 — January, February, March

2 — April, May, June

3 — July, August, September

4 — October, November, December

Year: Enter the year in which the quarter you are reporting fell.

Example: If you are filing a return for the third quarter of 2013,
enter “3” for the quarter and “2013” for the year.

Nore: If you are completing the worksheet for the 3rd quarter of
2006, this information is preprinted. See Return Information (for
3rd Quarter 2006) on page 3 for line-by-line instructions.



Return Information (for All Quarters Except 3rd
Quarter 2006)

See instructions below if you are filing a return for the 3rd quar-
ter of 2006.

Line 1 — Vehicle Rental Agreements of 28 Days or Less. En-
ter the number of vehicle rental agreements of 28 days or less
that were completed during the quarter. Do not include compli-
mentary rentals or rentals used for the transportation of com-
mercial freight. See Definitions on page 1. If zero, enter “0.”

Line 2 — Rental Fee Days. Enter the number of rental fee days
represented in the agreements of 28 days or less reported on
Line 1. Arental fee day is a “rental day” on which the domestic
security fee is charged. See Definitions on page 1. If zero, enter
“0."

Line 3 — Vehicle Rental Agreements Greater Than 28 Days.
Enter the number of vehicle rental agreements greater than 28
days that were completed during the quarter. Do not include
complimentary rentals or rentals used for the transportation of
commercial freight. See Definitions on page 1. If zero, enter “0.”

Line 4 — Total Amount Due. The rental fee applies only to the
first 28 days of a rental agreement with the same renter, even if
the agreement extends beyond 28 days. The system will calcu-
late the total amount due for the quarter and provide the amount
to you. Enter the amount stated on Line 4.

The system will calculate the total amount due as follows:

Quarters ending after September 30, 2006
A. The number of rental fee days on Line 2 multiplied by $5.00
plus

B. The number of vehicle rental agreements greater than 28
days on Line 3 multiplied by $140.00 ($5.00 x the 28-day per
agreement limit).

Quarters ending on or before June 30, 2006
A. The number of rental fee days on Line 2 multiplied by $2.00
plus

B. The number of vehicle rental agreements greater than 28
days on Line 3 multiplied by $56.00 ($2.00 x the 28-day per
agreement limit).

If you have a balance due, you must pay by e-check, credit
card, or EFT. See “How to Pay” on page 1. You are not required
to submit your payment on the same date as your telephone
call; however, your payment must be made by the due date to
avoid penalty and interest charges.

On returns for quarterly periods ending after September 30,
20086, the fee is calculated at the rate of $5.00 per day. If such
return includes rental fee days that fell on or before July 7,
2006, which are subject to the fee at the rate of $2.00 per day,
you must pay the amount due at the higher rate and file a Claim
for Refund (Form A-3730). To obtain Form A-3730, visit the Divi-
sion of Taxation’s website or call the Forms Request System.
See “Where to Get Information” on page 4.

Return Information (for 3rd Quarter 2006)
Line 1 — Vehicle Rental Agreements of 28 Days or Less.
Enter the number of vehicle rental agreements of 28 days
or less that were completed during the quarter ending
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September 30, 2006. Do not include complimentary rentals or
rentals used for the transportation of commercial freight. See
Definitions on page 1. If zero, enter “0.”

Line 2 and Line 3 — Rental Fee Days (Agreements of 28
Days or Less). Enter on Line 2 the number of rental fee days
that fell on or before July 7, 2006, included in the number of
agreements of 28 days or less reported on Line 1. Enter on
Line 3 the number of rental fee days that fell on or after July 8,
20086, included in the number of agreements of 28 days or less
reported on Line 1. A rental fee day is a “rental day” on which
the domestic security fee is charged. See Definitions on page 1.
If zero, enter “0.”

Line 4 — Vehicle Rental Agreements Greater Than 28 Days.
Enter the number of vehicle rental agreements greater than 28
days that were completed during the quarter ending Septem-
ber 30, 2006. Do not include complimentary rentals or rentals
used for the transportation of commercial freight. See Defini-
tions on page 1. If zero, enter “0.”

Line 5 and Line 6 — Rental Fee Days (Agreements of More
Than 28 Days). Enter on Line 5 the number of rental fee days
that fell on or before July 7, 2006, that occurred during the first
28 days of the agreements reported on Line 4. Enter on Line 6
the number of rental fee days that fell on or after July 8, 2006,
that occurred during the first 28 days of the agreements re-
ported on Line 4. A rental fee day is a “rental day” on which the
domestic security fee is charged. See Definitions on page 1. If
zero, enter “0.”

Example: A vehicle is rented from July 1, 2006, through

July 31, 2006. Because this agreement is greater than 28 days
it must be reported on Line 4. Since the rental fee applies only
to the first 28 days of the agreement, enter “7” on Line 5 for the
number of days subject to the fee that fell on or before July 7,
and “21” on Line 6 for the number of days subject to the fee that
fell on and after July 8.

Line 7 — Total Amount Due. The rental fee applies only to the
first 28 days of a rental agreement with the same renter, even if
the agreement extends beyond 28 days. The system will calcu-
late the total amount due for the quarter and provide the amount
to you. Enter the amount stated on Line 7.

The system will calculate the total amount due by adding:

A. The number of rental fee days on Line 2 multiplied by $2.00
plus

B. The number of rental fee days on Line 3 multiplied by $5.00
plus

C. The number of rental fee days on Line 5 multiplied by $2.00
plus

D. The number of rental fee days on Line 6 multiplied by $5.00.

If you have a balance due, you must pay by e-check, credit
card, or EFT. See “How to Pay” on page 1. You are not required
to submit your payment on the same date as your telephone
call; however, your payment must be made by the due date to
avoid penalty and interest charges.



Payment Information

If you want to pay by e-check, enter on the worksheet the 9-digit
bank routing number, the account number (omit hyphens,
spaces, symbols, and letters), and the type of account. Pay-
ment transactions initiated by 11:59 p.m. on the due date will be
deemed timely even if the settlement date (date payment is deb-
ited from the account) is after the filing deadline.

You can also pay by credit card or EFT (debit or credit) after you
have completed your telephone filing and received a Confirma-
tion Number. See “How to Pay” on page 1.

Note: E-check or EFT (debit or credit) payments made using
an account that is funded from a financial institution outside the
United States will not be accepted.

Signature and Confirmation

Signature. You are required to “sign” your return by agreeing to
the following statement: “| verify and/or affirm that all information
submitted during this call is correct. | am aware that if any of the
information provided by me is knowingly false, | am subject to
punishment.” Your return cannot be processed unless you agree
with the statement.

Confirmation Number. After you sign your return, stay on the
line until the system assigns you a 7-digit Confirmation Number.
This number serves as proof that your return was successfully
filed. Enter the number and the date you filed your return in the
boxes on the worksheet. Your return is not filed until you re-
ceive a Confirmation Number.

Your Confirmation Number is your only proof that your return
was successfully filed. Enter it on your worksheet and keep the
worksheet for your business files for four years in case of audit.
Do not mail it to the Division of Taxation.

Consolidated Filing

Businesses with multiple locations that wish to file their domes-
tic security fee returns on a consolidated basis must obtain prior
approval from the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services
by writing to: NJ Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services,
Client Registration, PO Box 252, Trenton, NJ 08646-0252.

Amended Returns

If you discover an error after you file your return by phone, file
an amended return online. If the correction results in an over-
payment of fees for the quarter, file a Claim for Refund (Form
A-3730). To obtain Form A-3730, visit the Division of Taxation
website or call the Forms Request System. See “Where to Get
Information” below.
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Where to Get Information

By Phone

Call the Division of Taxation’s Customer Service Center at
609-292-6400. Representatives are available from 8:30 a.m. to
4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday (except holidays).

Online
e Division of Taxation website:
www.njtaxation.org

e Email general State tax questions:
nj.taxation@treas.nj.gov
Do not include confidential information such as social secu-
rity or Federal tax identification numbers, liability or payment
amounts, dates of birth, or bank account numbers in your
email.

Forms and Publications
To obtain copies of the DSF-100 Worksheet and Instructions, as
well as other tax forms and publications:

¢ Visit the Division of Taxation’s website:
Forms: www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntsale.shtml

e Publications: www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/
pubs.shtml

¢ Call the Forms Request System at 1-800-323-4400 (within
NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) or 609-826-4400 (Touch-tone
phones only) to have printed forms or publications mailed to
you.
Note: Due to budgetary constraints, supplies are limited and
only certain forms and publications can be ordered through
this System.

In Person

Visit a New Jersey Division of Taxation regional office. For

the address of the office nearest you, call the Automated Tax
Information System from a Touch-tone phone at 1-800-323-4400
(within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) or 609-826-4400 or visit our
website.


https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntsale.shtml

