
New Jersey Sales and Use Tax Energy Return
FILING INSTRUCTIONS

ST-50EN-I
12-18

This return is to be used by businesses which collect Sales Tax on sales of energy.  Report all sales transactions from your business which occurred during the quarterly
reporting period covered by the return form.  Read these instructions before completing this return.  If you need further assistance in completing your return contact the Customer
Service Center at (609) 292-6400.   All records and other supporting documents which you used in completing your return should be retained and made available for examination
or request by the Division of Taxation or its authorized representatives for at least four years following the filing of your return.

Line 1: TOTAL NON-ENERGY GROSS RECEIPTS:  (Column B Only) The
receipts to be included are those from all sales of tangible personal
property, including the rental, storage and use of tangible personal
property; from all sales of services.  Receipts from all sales transactions,
including exempt transactions, must be included.
Total amounts of installment sales or other sales on credit must be included
in the gross receipts for the period during which the sales were
consummated by delivery to the purchaser.
RECEIPTS TO BE EXCLUDED:
a. Installment payments from previously reported installment sales or

other sales on credit.
b. Sales tax collections.
c. Trade-in allowances.
Adequate records should be maintained showing separately all exclusions
from gross receipts.

Line 2: LESS DEDUCTIONS: (Column B Only) – NO deduction may be taken
for any amount that has not been included in the Gross Receipts of this
return.  Deductions may be taken only ONCE.

Line 3: NON-ENERGY GROSS RECEIPTS SUBJECT TO TAX:  (Column B
Only) – Subtract line 2 from line 1.

Line 4: TAX DUE:  (Column A) – Insert figure from Schedule E line 6.
(Column B) – Multiply line 3 by tax rate .06625.

Line 5: SALES TAX COLLECTED:  Enter the total amount of tax collected for
Column A and Column B.  (Tax collected should not be combined)

Line 6: SALES TAX DUE:  Enter the greater of line 4 or line 5 for each column.

Line 7: USE TAX DUE: Enter 6.625% of the amount paid for tangible property
or services which are subject to tax under the New Jersey Sales & Use Tax
Act and for which you did not pay the 6.625% Sales Tax upon purchase. If
purchased in another state and used in New Jersey and tax was paid at a rate
less than 6.625%, enter tax due based on the difference.

Line 8: TOTAL TAX DUE: Add line 6 & 7 for Columns A and B and enter totals.

Line 9: TOTAL MONTHLY PAYMENTS:  Businesses that collected more than
$30,000 in New Jersey Sales and Use Tax during the preceding calendar
year must also pay a monthly remittance by Electronic Funds Transfer
(EFT) for the first and/or second month of a calendar quarter and make the
required EFT payment if the amount of tax due for that month exceeds
$500. If $30,000 or less in sales and use tax was collected in New Jersey
during the preceding calendar year, a monthly EFT remittance is not
required regardless of the amount of tax due for that particular month. 

Taxpayers must be registered to remit payments by EFT, must make
monthly and quarterly EFT payments of Sales and Use Tax as required, and
must file quarterly returns (Form ST-50-EN) by mail at the address listed
at the top of the return. Taxpayers are not required to file monthly
remittance statements.

Enter total amount of monthly EFT payments made for the first two months
of the quarter (if applicable, as described above).  These monthly payments
are due on the twentieth (20th) day of the month following the month for
which the tax was collected. The amount entered on Column A line 9 is the
total amount of the monthly payments that should have been remitted
through EFT using EFT Tax Type Code "04150." The amount entered on
Column B line 9 is the total amount of the monthly payments that should
have been remitted through EFT using EFT Tax Type Code "04160."
Monthly payments should have included all tax collected at the 6.625%
rate.

Line 10: UTUA CREDIT: (Column A Only) – Enter the amount of the total
available UTUA credit for the quarter covered by this return. Electricity
and/or natural gas marketers/non-utilities enter ZERO. Column B is not to
be used.  If the available credit exceeds the tax due for the quarter, the
balance will be applied to future quarters.  

Line 11: QUARTERLY TAX DUE:  (Column A) – Subtract line 9 and 10 from line
8 and enter the balance of the tax due for the quarter. The amount entered
on Column A line 11 is the amount that you must remit through EFT using
EFT Tax Type Code "04155." If total of line 9 and line 10 is greater than
line 8, enter ZERO and show overpayment on line 12. 

(Column B) – Subtract line 9 from line 8 and enter the balance of the tax
due for the quarter. The amount entered on Column B line 11 is the amount
that you must remit through EFT using EFT Tax Type Code "04165."

Line 12: OVERPAYMENT CREDIT:  (Column A) – If total of line 9 and 10 is
greater than line 8 enter overpayment here. The overpayment should be
entered as a positive number.  The balance entered on this line will be
applied to future quarters.  Overpayment cannot be used to offset tax due
on line 11, Column B, NON-ENERGY.

SCHEDULE  E
Line 1: TOTAL GROSS RECEIPTS FOR SALES AND TRANSPORTATION

OF ENERGY (include sales tax in this total)
The total gross receipts for sales of energy and transportation of energy is
defined as the total receipts from all retail sales of electricity and natural
gas including charges for its transportation. Exempt energy sales should
also be included in this total.  Energy means natural gas or electricity.
Transportation of energy also known as "utility service" means the
transportation or transmission of natural gas or electricity by means of
mains, wires, lines or pipes, to users or customers.

Line 2: LESS DEDUCTIONS (Exempt Energy Sales):
1. Sales covered by certificates: Resale Certificate ST-3; Exempt Use

Certificate ST-4; Urban Enterprise Zone Energy Sales Tax Exemption
Certificate UZ-6; Salem County Energy Sales Tax Exemption
Certificate SC-6; and ST-SST Streamlined Sales and Use Tax
Certificate of Exemption.

2. Sales to the Federal Government and its agencies and instrumentalities,
including the United Nations.

3. Sales of energy and utility service to a utility that was subject to the
provisions of N.J.S.A. 54:30A-16 as of April 1, 1997 or currently or
formerly subject to taxation under N.J.S.A. 54:30A-49 et eq., for its
own use and consumption.

Line 3: ENERGY GROSS RECEIPTS SUBJECT TO TAX – Subtract line 2
from line 1 for all columns (Sales Tax is included in this amount).

Line 4: ADJUSTED GROSS RECEIPTS – Since tax is required to be included
in the price, it is necessary to divide the energy gross receipts on line 3,
Columns a, b and c by 1.06625 to get the actual amount that relates to the
charge for the commodity or transportation service.

Line 5: TAX DUE – Subtract line 4 from line 3 for all columns.
Line 6: TOTAL COMBINED TAX DUE – Add Columns a, b and c line 5 and

enter total here and on the return Column A line 4.
PENALTY AND INTEREST

Any taxpayer failing to file the ST-50-EN return by the due date and/or failing to make
remittance for the tax due by said date will be subject to penalty and interest as
follows:

A) PENALTY CHARGES:
1. Late Filing Penalty – 5% per month or fraction thereof of the balance of

tax liability due at original return due date not to exceed 25% of such tax
liability.  Also a penalty of $100 for each month the return is delinquent
may be imposed.

2. Late Payment Penalty – 5% of the balance of the tax due paid late may
be imposed.

B) INTEREST CHARGES:
The annual interest rate is 3% above the average predominant prime rate.
Interest is imposed each month or a fraction thereof on the unpaid balance of
tax from the original due date to the date of payment.  At the end of each
calendar year any tax, penalties and interest remaining due will become part
of the balance on which interest will be charged.

NOTE: The average predominant prime rate is the rate as determined by the Board
of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, quoted by commercial banks
to large businesses on December 1st of the calendar year in which payment
was due or redetermined by the Director in accordance with N.J.S.A. 54:48-
2.

POSTMARK DATE: All New Jersey returns postmarked on or before the due date
of the return are considered to have been filed on time.  When a return is postmarked
after the due date, the filing date for that return is the date the return was received by
the Division, not the postmark date of the return.  The completed return and payment
is due the 20th day of the month following the quarter for which the tax was collected.
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STATE OF NEW JERSEY - DIVISION OF TAXATION
Sales & Use Tax Energy Return

Use This Form for Return Periods Beginning January 1, 2018 or After

Schedule E below must be completed before completing
column (A) Energy. Read entire instructions before completing this form. 

(A)
Energy

(B)
Non-Energy

ST-50-EN
12-18

DO NOT REPORT
NEGATIVE

AMOUNTS ON
THIS RETURN

This return is for the Quarter Ending and is due on 

1. Total Non-Energy Gross Receipts for Quarter
(Exclude Energy Receipts entered on Schedule E)

2. Less Deductions
(DO NOT include Exempt Energy Sales on this line.)

3. Non-Energy Gross Receipts Subject to Tax
(Subtract Line 2 from Line 1)

4. Tax Due Column A  (Enter amount from Schedule E, Line 6)

Tax Due Column B  (Multiply line 3 by .06625)

5. Sales Tax Collected

6. Sales Tax Due  (Enter greater of Line 4 or Line 5 in each column.)

7. Use Tax Due

8. Total Tax Due  (Add Line 6 and Line 7 in each column)

9. Total Monthly Payments
(Enter amounts remitted by EFT)

10. UTUA Credit  (Electricity and/or natural gas marketers/non-utilities 
enter ZERO)  (See instructions)

11. Quarterly Tax Due* (Column A: Line 8 minus Line 9 and 10)
(Column B:  Line 8 minus Line 9)

12. Overpayment Credit
If line 9 plus line 10 is greater than line 8 enter overpayment.

Schedule  E
(b)

Natural Gas
(c)

Transportation
(a)

Electricity

1. Total Gross Receipts  for Sales and 
Transportation of Energy (Include Sales Tax)

2. Less Deductions (Exempt Energy Sales)

3. Energy Gross Receipts Subject to Tax
(Subtract Line 2 from Line 1)

4. Adjusted Gross Receipts (Divide Line 3
Column a, b and c by 1.06625)

5. Tax Due (Subtract Line 4 from Line 3)

I verify and/or affirm that all information on this return is correct.  I am aware that if any of the foregoing information provided by me is knowingly false, I am subject to punishment.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Signature Title Telephone # Date

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Preparer’s Signature Firm Name Firm ID # Telephone #

Mail return to:  State of New Jersey, Division of Taxation, Revenue Processing Center, Sales Tax-Energy, PO Box 631, Trenton, NJ  08646-0631

*Payments are to be made via EFT.  Use TXP TAX TYPE CODE “04155” for Column (A) Energy, Line 11, Quarterly Tax Due.  
Use TXP TAX TYPE CODE “04165” for Column (B) Line 11, Quarterly Tax Due.

6. Total Combined Tax Due (Add Line 5 Columns a, b and c and
enter total amount here and on the Return Column A Line 4)

NAME: _________________________________________________  TAXPAYER ID#: ___________________________________

C/O NAME: _________________________________________________

ADDRESS: _________________________________________________

CITY: _________________________________________________  STATE: ________________ ZIP:  _____________________


