NEW JERSEY STATE TAX APPEAL PROCESS

New Jersey statutes grant you certain appeal rights. Therefore, if you disagree with any portion of this
assessment, you may either (1) protest and request an informal administrative conference with the
Conference and Appeals Branch, (2) file an appeal with the required fee to the Tax Court or (3) for
assessments regarding tax periods ending on or after January 1, 1999, a taxpayer who paid the entire
assessment within one year after time to protest or appeal has expired may thereafter file a refund
claim on form A-1730 within 450 days after the time to protest or appeal has expired. If the taxpayer
initially requests a conference or files a refund claim pursuant to the aforementioned, the taxpayer may
subsequently appeal that decision to the Tax Court.

In the event that no protest is filed within the prescribed time periods and payment is not received,
collection proceedings will be instituted. Please be advised that interest accrues on outstanding
liabilities regardless of whether a protest or complaint is filed.

@ CONFERENCE AND APPEALS BRANCH

Your protest must be in writing and within (90) ninety days from the date of this notice in the form and
manner described in N.J.A.C. 18:1-1.8 in order to be valid. The protest must include the following:

1) The signature under oath of the taxpayer, the taxpayer’s duly authorized officer or duly
authorized representative.

2) The taxpayer’s name, address, telephone number and social security number and/or tax
identification number,

3) The name, address, and telephone number of taxpayer’s representative, if any for the
purpose of the protest. In such cases, a written power of attorney (Form M-5008) shall be
filed with the notice of protest.

4) The type of tax and period(s) under protest.
5) A copy of the notice at issue.

6) The specific amount of tax, penalty and/or interest under protest and the specific amount of
tax, penalty and/or interest uncontested.

7) Statement of grounds upon which the protest is based.

8) The specific facts supporting each ground asserted and a summary of evidence or
documentation to be presented in support of taxpayer’s contention. (Providing copies of the
evidence or documents in addition to the summary could help expedite the protest process.)
If this requirement cannot be met within the 90-day period, the Division will, upon written
request, extend the time for complying with the submission for an additional 90 days.

9) Payment for the entire amount of the uncontested amount of the tax, late filing penalty and
interest, if any. (Failure to submit payment will not invalidate the protest but the Division
in accordance with applicable law may proceed to collect outstanding amounts which are
due).

The protest should be addressed to:
Chief Phone No. (609) 588-7175
Conference and Appeals Branch Fax No. (609) 631-7000
N. J. Division of Taxation
PO Box 198
Trenton, NJ 08695-0198

www.stafe.nj.us/ireasuryltaxation/organization/confappl.shtml!



@ TAX COURT

Since most matters can be resolved through the protest and hearing process (N.J.A.C. 18:1-1.8), it is
requested that taxpayers make use of this informal process. Notwithstanding, you may file a complaint
with the required fce relative to this detcrmination which must be received within (90) ninety days
from the date of this notice, directly with the Tax Court of New Jersey in accordance with the
provisions of N.J.S.A. 54:51A-13 et seq. The address of the Tax Court is:

Tax Court of New Jersey
Tax Court Management Office
PO Box 972
Trenton, NJ 08625-0972

Should you requirce further assistance, the phone number of the Tax Court Clerk’s Office is (609) 292-5082.

NOTE: An appeal to the Tax Court of New Jersey does not neccssarily stay the collection of the tax
or its enforcement by entry of a judgment. Security approved by thc Director of the Division of
Taxation may be required under certain conditions. N.J.S.A. 54:49:18 (a) and (b).

@ REFUND CLAIM

As an alternative to protesting or appealing an audit assessment made with respect to tax periods
commencing on or after January 1, 1999, a taxpayer who does not timely protest or appeal the
asscssment may pay the assessment and then file for a refund of the payment. However, the taxpayer
must (1) pay the entire assessment within one year after the time for filing the protest expires and (2)
file the refund claim on form A-1730 with all supporting documentation within 450 days after the time
for filing the protest cxpires. This provision only applies to those assessments resulting from the audit
of one of the following taxes: Corporation Business Tax, Corporation Income Tax, Estate Tax, Gross
Income Tax, Petroleum Products Gross Receipts Tax, Sales and Used Tax, Savings Institution Tax,
Tobacco and Nicotine Products Wholesale Sales and Use Tax or Transfer Inheritance Tax.
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